Petr Cígler

Portrait of the composer Petr Cígler.
CD / Digital download / Free streaming


Petr Cígler is a composer, horn player, and chemist. Though he has no formal education in composition, he has devoted himself to it in collaboration with performers and festivals. For him, music counterbalances his vocation in science and inspires his work (he currently heads the scientific team in synthetic nanochemistry at the Czech Academy of Sciences). Cígler is interested in organising and manipulating sounds and working with acoustic phenomena, and enjoys collaborating with advanced and enthusiastic performers. His work includes orchestral and ensemble compositions for Ostravská banda, BERG Orchestra, ONO – Ostrava New Orchestra, and MoEns, and his music has been presented at festivals in Czechia (Prague Spring, Ostrava New Music Days, NODO opera festival, Exposition of New Music), Great Britain (Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival), the USA, Germany, and Switzerland. His composition Ueber das farbige Licht der Doppelsterne was commissioned by Westdeutscher Rundfunk Köln and premiered in a live broadcast on WDR 3. His pieces Entropic Symphony and Daily Patterns represented Czechia at the International Rostrum of Composers (IRC) in 2013 and 2016, respectively. Daily Patterns was recommended by IRC for broadcast in over thirty countries. Cígler’s opera The Protracted Sinuous Movement of a Longitudinal Object was commissioned by and performed at NODO festival in Ostrava in 2016.

1. Daily Patterns (2014)____12:01
Ostravská banda conducted by Ondřej Vrabec

2. Ueber das farbige Licht der Doppelsterne (2012)____8:05
Ostravská banda conducted by Petr Kotík

3. Awake! A lullaby for three tubas and percussion (2002)____9:07
Robert Škarda, Karel Škopek, Václav Novák – tuba, Junko Honda – percussion

4. Nothing is Free (2017)____4:53
String Noise (Pauline Kim Harris, Conrad Harris – violin)

5. The Journey to Ultimate Serenity (2014)____7:29
MoEns Ensemble (Kamil Doležal – clarinet, Martin Chmelař – trombone, David Danel – violin, Balázs Adorján – cello, Hanuš Bartoň – piano, Miroslav Pudlák – conductor)

6. – 8. Protracted Sinuous Movement of a Longitudinal Object (excerpts) (2015–16)____11:12
Petr Odo Macháček – libretto and staging
Aneta Bendová, Eva Gieslová – soprano, Vojtěch Semerád – tenor, Josef Škarka – baritone, Zdeňka Brychtová, Lenka Chadimová, Jiří Šimek, Vladimir Benderski – actors
Ostravská banda conducted by Ondřej Vrabec
6. Prelude and Scene No.1____3:55
7. Scene No.11____3:55
8. Scene No.16____3:22

9. Entropic Symphony (2011)____19:36
Ostravská banda conducted by Petr Kotík

10. Concerto for Horn and Orchestra, 1st Movement (2019)____6:42